Our staff

Head of School

Title Staff member Position Contact
Professor Professor Rachel Fensham Head of School Email: rachel.fensham@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8630

Art History and Art Curatorship

Staff member Position Contact
Professor Jaynie Anderson Professorial Fellow Email: jaynie@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Anne Dunlop Herald Chair in Fine Art Email: anne.dunlop@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9948
Professor Charles Green Professor of Contemporary Art Email: c.green@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4429
Assoc. Professor Alison Inglis Associate Professor in Art History Email: asi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7448
Dr Christopher Marshall Senior Lecturer in Art History Email: crmars@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5224
Dr Anthony White Senior Lecturer in Art History Email: a.white@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3408
Dr Susan Lowish Lecturer in Australian Art History Email: susan.lowish@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: (03)83445246
Dr Miya Tokumitsu Lecturer in Art History Email: miya.tokumitsu@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4305
Assoc. Professor Claire Roberts Australian Research Council Future Fellow Email: claire.roberts@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9294
Professor Margaret Manion Professor Emeritus Email: m.manion@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Thomas Berghuis Principal Fellow Email: tberghuis@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Robert Gaston Principal Fellow Email: rgaston@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Sasha Grishin Principal Fellow Email: agrishin@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Doug Hall Principal Fellow Email: doug.hall@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor David Marshall Principal Fellow Email: david.marshall@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Ann Galbally Quinn Principal Fellow Email: a.galbally@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Edward Gott Senior Fellow Email: e.gott@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Rebecca Coates Fellow Email: coatesr@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Anthony Gardner Fellow Email: amgar@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Lyndell Green Fellow Email: lyndellb@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Vivien Gaston Fellow Email: vgaston@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Hilary Maddocks Fellow Email: h.maddocks@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Helen McDonald Fellow Email: hmcd@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Sheridan Palmer Fellow Email: palmers@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Graham Ryles Fellow Email: ghr@unimelb.edu.au

Arts and Cultural Management

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Amanda Coles Head of Arts and Cultural Management Email: amanda.coles@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7437
Dr Christiaan De Beukelaer Lecturer in Cultural Policy Email: christiaan.debeukelaer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3709
Assoc. Professor Kate MacNeill Lecturer in Arts and Cultural Management Email: cmmacn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8753
Dr Jo Caust Principal Fellow Email: jo.caust@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Ann Tonks Fellow Email: annet@unimelb.edu.au

Australian Indigenous Studies

Staff member Position Contact
Mr Philip Morrissey Head of Australian Indigenous Studies Email: philipjm@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6036
Dr Odette Marie Kelada Lecturer in Australian Indigenous Studies Email: okelada@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5566

Creative Writing

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Amanda Johnson Head of Creative Writing Email: amandaj@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7274
Professor Kevin Brophy Professor in Creative Writing Email: kevinjb@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8425
Dr Grant Caldwell Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: cal@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7634
Dr Jeanine Leane Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: j.leane@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Elizabeth MacFarlane Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: ecm@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8193
Dr Radha O'Meara Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: radha.omeara@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5378
Dr Eddie Paterson Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: eddiep@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9727
Dr Maria Tumarkin Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing Email: m.tumarkin@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jack Hibberd Vice-Chancellor's Fellow Email: jhibberd@unimelb.edu.au
Mr Arnold Zable Principal Fellow Email: arnold.zable@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Joanna Murray-Smith Fellow Email: joanna.murray@unimelb.edu.au

English and Theatre Studies

Staff member Position Contact
Assoc. Professor Anne Maxwell Head of English and Theatre Studies; Associate Professor of English Email: emaxwell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5481
Professor Deirdre Coleman Robert Wallace Chair of English Email: colemand@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5496
Professor Ken Gelder Professor of English; Co-director of the Australian Centre Email: kdgelder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5485
Richard Flanagan Boisbouvier Founding Chair in Australian Literature Email: no-reply10@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Peter Otto Professor of English Email: peterjo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5482
Professor Gillian Russell Gerry Higgins Professor of Irish Studies Email: gillian.russell@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 2617
Professor Stephanie Trigg Professor and Reader of English; Director of the Melbourne Node for the ARC Centre of Excellent for the History of Emotions (CHE) Email: sjtrigg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5504
Professor Denise Varney Professor of Theatre Studies; Co-director of the Australian Centre Email: dvarney@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8579
Assoc. Professor Paul Rae Senior Lecturer in Theatre Studies Email: paul.rae@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1676
Dr David McInnis Gerry Higgins Lecturer in Shakespeare Studies Email: mcinnisd@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5498
Dr Sarah Balkin Lecturer in English and Theatre Studies Email: sarah.balkin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8617
Dr Joseph Hughes Lecturer in English Email: joseph.hughes@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor Clara Tuite Lecturer in English and Theatre Studies Email: clarat@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4216
Assoc. Professor Justin Clemens Future Fellow Email: jclemens@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5502
Dr Grace Moore ARC CHE Senior Research Fellow Email: gmoo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3308
Dr Stephanie Downes ARC CHE Postdoctoral Fellow Email: stephanie.downes@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 0144
Dr Rachael Swain DECRA Research Fellow Email: r.swain@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Rachael Weaver ARC Research Fellow Email: weaverra@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7635
Professor Christopher Wallace-Crabbe Professor Emeritus Email: ckwc@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Ian Donaldson Professorial Fellow Email: ido@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Peter Eckersall Professorial Fellow Email: peckersal@unimelb.edu.au
Professor John Frow Professorial Fellow Email: j.frow@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Stephen Knight Professorial Fellow Email: stephen.knight@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Bernard Muir Professorial Fellow Email: bjem@unimelb.edu.au
Assoc. Professor David Bennett Principal Fellow Email: d.b@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Valerie Krips Fellow Email: valerie.krips@unimelb.edu.au

Media and Communications

Staff member Position Contact
Assoc. Professor Robert Hassan Head of Media and Communications Email: hassanr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3539
Professor Nikos Papastergiadis Professor of Cultural Studies; Director of The Research Unit For Public Cultures Email: n.papastergiadis@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8189
Assoc. Professor Scott McQuire Associate Professor in Media and Communications Email: mcquire@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8194
Assoc. Professor Ingrid Volkmer Associate Professor in Media and Communications Email: ivolkmer@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3500
Dr David Nolan Senior Lecturer in Media and Communications Email: d.nolan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3345
Dr Scott Wright Senior Lecturer in Media and Communications Email: scott.wright@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jennifer Beckett Lecturer in Media and Communications Email: jennifer.beckett@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5293
Dr Bjorn Nansen Lecturer in Media and Communication Email: nansenb@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9122
Professor Sean Cubitt Professorial Fellow Email: sean.cubitt@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Carolyne Lee Senior Fellow Email: carolyne@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Kate Brennan Fellow Email: kate.brennan@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Douglas Hendrie Fellow Email: dhendrie@unimelb.edu.au

Publishing and Communications

Staff member Position Contact
Assoc. Professor Mark Davis Head of Publishing and Communications Email: davismr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3349
Dr Beth Driscoll Lecturer in Publishing and Communications Email: driscoll@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3029
Dr Sybil Nolan Lecturer in Publishing and Communications Email: sybil.nolan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7398

Screen and Cultural Studies

Staff member Position Contact
Assoc. Professor Chris Healy Head of Screen and Cultural Studies Email: clhealy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5484
Dr Gilbert Caluya Lecturer in Cultural Studies Email: gcaluya@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7818
Professor Jeanette Hoorn Professor of Visual Cultures Email: jjhoorn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4163
Professor Angela Ndalianis Professor in Screen and Cultural Studies / Director of Transformative Technologies Research Unit Email: angelan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6851
Assoc. Professor Audrey Yue Associate Professor in Cultural Studies Email: aisy@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5487
Dr Mark Nicholls Senior Lecturer in Cinema Studies Email: markdn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5669
Dr Wendy Haslem Lecturer in Screen Studies Email: wlhaslem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3409
Assoc. Professor Fran Martin Future Fellow Email: f.martin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5486
Dr Rimi Khan Research Fellow Email: rpkhan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7635
Professor Barbara Creed Redmond Barry Distinguised Professor Emeritus Email: bacreed@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5516

Teaching and research

Staff member Position Contact
Professor Rachel Fensham Head of School Email: rachel.fensham@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 8630
Assoc. Professor Fran Martin Future Fellow Email: f.martin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5486

Professional

Staff member Position Contact
John Boardman School Manager Email: johnab@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9831
Jane Brown Manager, Visual Cultures Resource Centre Email: jebrown@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5562
Martina Cullen Teaching and Learning Administrator and Internship Coordinator Email: martina.cullen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3081
Jacqueline Doyle Executive Assistant, Events and Internationalisation Email: jacqueline.doyle@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3785
Gabrielle Grigg Research Higher Degree Administrator Email: gagrigg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4183
Leanne Hunt Research Administrator, ARC Centre of Excellence for the History of Emotions Email: leanne.hunt@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5152
Ian Kendrick Assistant Librarian, Visual Cultures Resource Centre Email: imk@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5562
Penelope Lee Education and Outreach Officer, ARC Centre of Excellence for the History of Emotions (CHE) Email: penelope.lee@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6920
Annemarie Levin School Reception and Undergraduate Support Email: alevin@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5507
Rebecca Mestroni Teaching and Learning Officer Email: rebecca.mestroni@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7432
Jazz Money Acting Australian Indigenous Studies Officer Email: jazz.money@unimelb.edu.au
Amanda Morris Research Grants and Project Officer, Australian Centre Email: ajmo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 5280
Kymberlyn Olsen Program and Communications Coordinator/Centre for Advancing Journalism (CAJ) Email: kim.olsen@unimelb.edu.au
Sophia Robinson Administrative Officer, Australian Institute of Art History (AIAH) Email: sophia.robinson@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5207
Jessica Scott Research Administrator, ARC Centre of Excellence for the History of Emotions (job share with Leanne Hunt) Email: jessica.scott@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5152